Letter to Laura Mackenzie Phillips

13 Sep

Dear LMP :

I love watching biography movies, true stories and witness accounts of human drama. I recently extended this love to ebooks on the subject and went on-line to buy a biography bundle for a few bucks. That is how I came upon your book, High on arrival.

Even with my ADHD – which allows enough attention for six minutes of reading at a time if I don’t take my pill – it merely took me two nights to go through it (I work the nightshift and the flow of calls is so sparse that I began reading to stay alert). The experience was this passionately motivating.

First, I must admit that I wasn’t quite clear on who this Mackenzie Phillips was before I read the book. Then, I Googled all I could get in order to put faces on these characters. As you might have expected, I couldn’t have gone this long in my life without stumbling on some of the work you had done. So the faint memory of the One day at a time theme resurfaced. Putting two and two together I remembered seeing you on the Lifetime drama The Division – which I enjoyed so much, being a Nancy McKeon fan.

Then, I got myself the DVD of the first season of ODAAT. Apparently, the other seasons are not yet digitalized. Are they ?

That allowed me to match the images with what you describe in your book. And put all that on a timeline.

Now, let me tell you that I admire the courage you have to be a survivor. Please, don’t minimize the fact that you did put a tremendous effort into your recovery and its sustainability. Instead of saying recovery, I should refer to the building of who you are now. Your book tells the story of a human being who refuses to be a victim. You show the World that you are determined to build your prosperity in spite of what life throws at you. In your construction process, you make sure that your loved ones are not forgotten. This in itself is exemplary.

Prosperity is not just having enough money to pay the bills. It is about being able to fully live your life, comfortably and happily. You didn’t repair a damaged little girl. You provided her with what she needed and was never given to begin with. She had money but none of the basic essentials that most of us take for granted. You rolled up your sleeves and began building. Then you became capable of repairing the collateral damage resulting from this chain of events. You acquired the power of experience. You acquired empowerment.

After reading your story, I watched American Graffiti again, with different emotions. It also made the show with the funny super a bit more dramatic – especially with the recent loss of Bonnie Franklin. I discovered your interest in animals. I saw your tv appearances where you want to share about your experience to help others, to encourage them, to tell them that it is possible to make it through.

LMP : bravo ! I want to let as many people as I possibly can know about you and your endeavours. What you have lived is yours, what you do and share is a valuable gift to humanity.

My best wishes of sustainable happiness to you and your family!

Jean-François “Jeff” Néron, general manager at Waska.org

2 Responses to “Letter to Laura Mackenzie Phillips”

  1. analewiston 10/11/2013 at 7:40 PM #

    What an inspiring woman!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Freestyle BMX - 09/14/2013

    Freestyle BMX

    Can I simply just say what a relief to find somebody who actually knows what they are talking about online. You definitely know how to bring a problem to light and make it important. More and more people ought to check this out and understand this side…

Leave a Reply

